Political Correctness Run Amok

A few minutes ago, my coworker walked into my office with a form similar to the one above.  I thought it was funny, until he told me that a High School football coach had been fired because of it.  Apparently Pat Lynch, head football coach, weightlifting coach and guidance counselor at Buffalo (Wyoming) High School distributed the form to his players before a playoff game last month.  Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t stop thinking it was funny because he handed it out to a bunch of High School kids, I stopped thinking it was funny because he got fired (technically he “resigned”, although he did get to keep his job as a guidance counselor).  Here’s an excerpt from his written apology:

“I would like to apologize for my lapse in judgment and the poor choice that I made from my position as the Head Football Coach for Buffalo High School,” the statement said. “I know that this situation has caused you pain and discomfort, and for that I am truly sorry. As a person and a professional, I believe I will learn and grow from this experience and use it to help others.”

“I appreciate having had the opportunity to coach in this community for the past 22 years. It has been a rewarding experience,” Lynch wrote. “I am eager to earn back your trust as I continue to serve in a profession that I truly love.”

My point is, it’s a joke.  I’m a woman (“a little bitch”?) and I get the humor.  Perhaps it was above the heads of some, or even all, of the adolescents on the team, but it was nothing to resign over.  All I can say is, I’m glad he didn’t have this on his desk, because in an environment like Buffalo High School, someone surely would have called in the Department of Homeland Security.

Leave a Reply

