$#!+ My Kid Says (About Led Zeppelin)

As we were listening to the radio in the car this evening, the first four drum beats of this song came on and my son said “Led Zeppelin”.  I asked him what the name of the song was, and in typical teenage fashion he grunted and said he didn’t know.  I then asked him if he didn’t know what the name of the song was, how did he know it was Led Zeppelin.  He said, with the unquestionable wisdom of a 14-year-old, “I just know”.  He then went on to tell me that it was, and I’m paraphrasing here, “probably one of those songs with a title that has nothing to do with the words in the song”, to which I responded “Oh, like Baba O’Riley?” while he was saying, at the exact same time “like Over the Hills and Far Away“.

And now I’m going to show my ignorance.  I responded “Over the Hills and Far Away?”  To which he replied, “you know, that song we heard on the radio the other day that you said I couldn’t play on the guitar but then we came home and I played it and you were really impressed?”  Oh, yeah, that song.

Anyway, I figure I must be doing something right for him to have developed such a fine taste in music at such a tender age, and for those of you who DIDN’T click on the link, the song is called D’yer Mak’er and he was right, it is one of those songs where the title doesn’t appear in the lyrics.

Leave a Reply

