Why I Write

I do not write to entertain an audience, and I will never be capable of dashing off a quick response to a current event. I write for two main reasons:

First, I write to chronicle significant (or even relatively insignificant) events in my life so as to better remember them later. This is what I did with my short piece on the Brandon Flowers concert, and what I hope to do many times in the future.  I wish I had done so in the summer of 2000 when my (then 3-year-old) son was removed from the stage after giving Ringo (Mr. Conductor) Starr flowers during a concert in Saratoga (California).  Lacking a camera on that occasion (no rule-breaker I), I wrote a lengthy email to the event promoters through their website and all I have to show for it is an email from dfishof@aol.com that says “SORRY I CAN ‘T [sic] HELP”.  I won’t bore you with all the other things I wish I had documented, but I assure you there are many (OK, one more, 2002 World Series Game 6).

The other reason I write is to get things out of my head that simply will not go away unless I write them down.  I typically notice this when I am annoying my family, friends and coworkers by talking about the same thing over and over again.  By writing it down, I can capture everything I feel about that particular issue and arrange it in a way that I feel is logical (and grammatically correct).  Sometimes I might even take that opportunity to look up some pertinent supporting facts, but don’t count on it.

This methodology inherently results in an irregular posting periodicity, which means I will never have a large audience, which was never the point to begin with.  If this bothers you, I apologize, because apparently you find my writing style so compelling that you check back on a regular basis only to be disappointed that I have not created something new and delightful.  On the other hand, feel free to plant a thought at any time by contacting me on Twitter, for as you know, once a thought starts buzzing around in my head the only way I can stop it is to write it down.

Leave a Reply

